Happy New Year
From your CTPA Board!!!

It's time to get the dust off your saddles and the blankets off your horses!!!   The 2018 season is kicking off on March 17, 2018 in Walla Walla, WA, with a 3-man sorting!   This is a new venue and we are excited about being in Washington again in 2018.

There are some changes to watch for on the March flyer:
  • (1) Open class--no draw, but one of your teams must be a 12 incentive

  • (2) be sure to enter your teams at your highest penning/sorting rating.

Last year was an outstanding year and we are expecting nothing less for this year.   CTPA had new member growth in 2017 and there is a lot of interest this year, so the competition is getting stiffer!   We have added more events to the schedule this year and are broadening our geographical locations.   We have also noticed folks have really started to warm up to the 3-man sorting.

I look forward to seeing all of you this Season and wish everyone the best for 2018!


On behalf of CTPA, we would like to thank everyone who attended the finals and Kick-Off events this weekend and hope that you all left with a good feeling. Some trailers were heavier with new saddles and "stuff" when they pulled out and some hopefully left with the determination to do it next year.

As I said in the membership meeting, we had a very good year, and if we have another good year, awards will be phenomenal next year.

Mark your calendars for the Finals at RimRock on September 28-29, 2018 and the Kickoff on September 30! See you down the road!

Our first event is scheduled for a 3-man sorting on March 17. We are looking at a new venue for this event.

Stay tuned and if you have any questions, contact a Board member....speaking of which, the ballots were not done this weekend due to time constraints, so they will be mailed out shortly....when I get caught up a bit....and the new ratings will be posted tomorrow on FB WITH ONLY THOSE WHO WERE CHANGED. if your name is not on the list, your rating is the same as this year. The complete list will be posted on CTPA website.

Thanks again to all of you who make CTPA what it is.

.... Donna ~ Emily

Member Info


The CTPA Board has been listening to its members regarding the Open Class. The Board has agreed to change both the Open Classes in the Penning and Sorting for the 2017 Season:

*No handicap * No draw * 6-ride limit*

Added bonus:

An incentive class has been to be added to the Open Class for teams whose riders are rated #4 and below. Incentive teams pay the same entry fee as the Open riders, but $15 of the entry fee will be paid back (100%) to the incentive winners and paid in accordance with the number of teams (i.e., 1- for-10 in penning and 1-for-15 in sorting).

The Board met at length on Sunday, March 12, 2017.

All other classes in Penning and Sorting will have a 6-ride limit, but will retain the requirement of one-draw team.

Design downloaded .